Phase 3 · Semaglutide

NCT05478252 trial results

Investigation of Clinical Comparability of Semaglutide Drug Products Based on the Proposed and the Approved Drug Substance Manufacturing Processes in Participants With Type 2 Diabetes

Change in Glycosylated Haemoglobin (HbA1c) (Percentage of glycosylated haemoglobin), From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 28). Semaglutide J: -1.7; Semaglutide B: -1.6.

Participants
388
Status
completed
Completed
2023-09-18
Sponsor
Novo Nordisk A/S

As posted on ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT05478252), updated at source Dec 12, 2025. Read again whenever the registry updates it. Registry figures can differ from a published paper, which may use another analysis.

Primary outcome

What NCT05478252 measured first

Change in Glycosylated Haemoglobin (HbA1c)Percentage of glycosylated haemoglobin · From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 28) · mean
Semaglutide Jn=285Semaglutide Bn=91
-1.7(1.0)-1.6(1.0)
Side effects by arm

Side effects in NCT05478252

Percent of participants affected, From the time of first dosing (week 0) to end of study (week 33). The most common events the registry lists.

EventSemaglutide JSemaglutide B
Any serious event2.7%5.2%
Nausea12%15.5%
Diarrhoea8.9%7.2%
Headache5.8%2.1%
Vomiting5.2%5.2%
Secondary outcomes

What else it measured

Change in Body WeightKilogram (kg) · From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 28) · mean
Semaglutide Jn=284Semaglutide Bn=91
-5.0(5.0)-4.6(4.4)
Number of Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Events · From the time of first dosing (week 0) to end of study (week 33) · number
Semaglutide Jn=291Semaglutide Bn=97
15652
Occurrence of Anti-semaglutide Antibodies (Yes/no)Participants · From baseline (week 0) to end of study (week 33) · count of participants
MeasureSemaglutide Jn=282Semaglutide Bn=90
Yes10
No28190
Occurrence of Anti-semaglutide Binding Antibodies Cross-reacting With Endogenous Glucagon Like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) (Yes/no)Participants · From baseline (week 0) to end of study (week 33) · count of participants
MeasureSemaglutide Jn=1Semaglutide Bn=0
Yes00
No10
Occurrence of In-vitro Neutralising Cross-reacting Antibodies to Endogenous GLP-1 (Yes/no)Participants · At week 33 · count of participants
MeasureSemaglutide Jn=1Semaglutide Bn=0
Yes00
No10
Anti-semaglutide Antibodies Level Measured as Percentage (%) Bound/TotalPercentage of Antisemaglutide Antibodies · At week 33 · mean
Semaglutide Jn=1Semaglutide Bn=0
3.47(0.00)not reported
Anti-semaglutide Antibodies Level (Measured as Titre)Titre · At week 33 · mean
Semaglutide Jn=1Semaglutide Bn=0
15.00(0.00)not reported
The trial

How NCT05478252 was run

The study compares two semaglutide medicines and looks at how well they control blood sugar levels, in participants with type 2 diabetes (T2D). Participants will either get the currently available semaglutide or the semaglutide which is produced through a new manufacturing process. Participants need to take one injection of semaglutide once a week, on the same day of every week. Participants will have a total of 11 clinic visits and the study will last for about 35 weeks (approximately 8 months).

  • Semaglutide J: Participants will initially receive 0.25 milligrams (mg) subcutaneous injections of semaglutide J once weekly (OW) and the dose will be then escalated once in 4 weeks for 8 weeks until the target maintenance dose of 1.0 mg is reached which will be maintained for a period of 20 weeks. Metformin will be considered as background therapy during the trial.
  • Semaglutide B: Participants will initially receive 0.25 mg subcutaneous injections of semaglutide B OW and the dose will be then escalated once in 4 weeks for 8 weeks until the target maintenance dose of 1.0 mg is reached which will be maintained for a period of 20 weeks. Metformin will be considered as background therapy during the trial.
Who could join the trial

Inclusion Criteria: * Diagnosed with type 2 diabetes (T2D) mellitus greater than equal to (≥) 180 days before screening. * Stable daily dose(s) ≥ 90 days prior to the day of screening of metformin ≥ 1500 milligrams (mg) or maximum tolerated or effective dose. * HbA1c of 7.0-10.5 percentage (%) \[53-91.3 millimoles per mole (mmol/mol)\] (both inclusive). Exclusion Criteria: * Known or suspected hypersensitivity to study intervention(s) or related products. * Treatment with any medication for the indication of diabetes or obesity other than stated in the inclusion criteria within 90 days before screening. However, short term insulin treatment for a maximum of 14 days and prior insulin treatment for gestational diabetes are allowed. * Uncontrolled and potentially unstable diabetic retinopathy or maculopathy. Verified by a fundus examination performed within 90 days before screening or in the period between screening and randomisation. Pharmacological pupil-dilation is a requirement unless using a digital fundus photography camera specified for nondilated examination.

Trial averages do not predict what one person will experience. Results are shown as the registry posts them, without interpretation.

GLPcompare is an informational data platform, not a medical provider or pharmacy. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the current FDA label.